Valporaiso University and Indiana

A few weeks ago my mom called me and asked if I wanted to spend spring break with my grandparents and her and my sister. Of course I said YES. So I came up to from college station late friday and the next morning I got up early  around 5:30 in the morning to fly out to Chicago. When we were about to walk out the door my dad said something about picking up something in Indiana. Dumbfounded I asked “what?” and found out that we were really going to Indiana first to drive with the grandparents to Chicago.

So we arrived in Indiana and chilled at the grandparents house for the day. We had a great dinner with them and Uncle Dick and Uncle Mikey. Today we went to church and then started driving to Chicago. We took our time and visited Purdue University as well as Valparaiso University.

Valparaiso University is a small Lutheran College in north Indiana with about 4,000 students. It was founded in 1859 and was one of the first coeducational (men & women) colleges in the United States. We liked Valpo so much that we got out and walked around for quite a while. Once we walked into the chapel we saw an intricate organ as well as stain glass overload. It was glorious. What was also really neat was the amount of natural light that came into the chapel. Well once were done walking around we jumped into the car ate dinner near campus and then headed to a hotel.

Tomorrow we go into Chicago, I am super excited and will keep posting photos and stories through the week. Dad and Grant I know you are reading this, wish you could be here.

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://dougklembara.wordpress.com/2010/03/15/valporaiso-university-and-indiana/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a comment