The Aggie Bonfire – Remembered

I walk into my house at 4:00 a.m. and put my camera equipment up, I think about going to bed. But I can’t. The moment I just experienced in my life was just to monumental for me to just sleep. What I experienced was an intense love for Texas A&M, family, and the values this university holds.

For those who didnt know, Aggies gathered this morning at 2:42 at the Bonfire Memorial on campus to remember the fallen from the collapse and to pay respect to them and their families. I started the experience when I drove through campus towards the memorial and I watched hundreds of Aggies all walking quietly and coming together. I got out my car and walked up to the candle lighting line and talked with a few people and watched people for a while all light their candles from a few candles on a picnic table set up. I walked up over the hill and what I saw took me a while to comprehend. I not only saw the entire inner ring filled with Aggies but a good portion outside the ring. We all stood in silence and I walked to the back to get a few photos. As I stood in the back a hymn broke out from the crowd and we all put our voices together and sang. From there we all said the Lord’s Prayer then the crowd lifted their candles and voiced the Aggie War Hymn.


After that had finished a man’s voice lifted over the crowd and he spoke for a few moments, encouraging Aggies, especially current students, to keep the spirit alive by showing up to silver taps, saying howdy, and living out the traditions at Texas A&M. These very things are what makes Texas A&M the greatest university in the world, and we need to keep them going. He finished his remembrance speech with this quote, “the Aggie Spirit built bonfire, the bonfire did not build the Aggie Spirit”.


I stood their in the cold wind and when I heard that, I didn’t shiver because of the temperature but because of the words. Aggies, this university has something very special and you don’t need me to tell you that. We have a heart and a family like no other. Live out daily the core values (Excellence, Integrity, Leadership, Loyalty, Respect, and Selfless Service) and be what makes this university so incredibly great. Tonight I felt like I was a part of something that was extremely loving and respectful, something that is strongly united. Be proud Aggies of what we have!

Okay everyone, I also made a video, something that’s  a little new for me. I hope you enjoy it.

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: http://dougklembara.wordpress.com/2009/11/18/the-aggie-bonfire-remembered/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

3 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Beautiful photos (I got here from the Texas Aggie group on Flickr) and an equally beautiful recap of the night.

    Gig’em…

  2. Thanks for sharing this Doug, takes me back to Aggieland. If you find more information on the 27 survivors, I’d love to see more of that. The B/CS Eagle and the Battalion had some of the survivors interviewed, but again, I hope to hear that they are all doing well and moving forward.
    God Bless Texas A&M U. and the whole Aggie Family.

  3. Thanks for sharing Doug…very moving video of the Bonfire remembrance!


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

